IRREGULAR PAST TENSE

25187648612_dd76f96f2c_o

Today I am going to point out some irregular past tenses but before I do so I would like to go over the regular formation of past tenses.  You will remember that you just add -ed to the present tense to form the past tense e.g.

I walk

I walked

I pick

I picked

IRREGULAR PAST TENSE

  • You will learn the irregular past tense.

There are many verbs which are irregular in the past tense and there is no alternative but to memorize these verbs.  This list is not exhaustive.  I am going to give you some videos showing irregular verbs.  Normally I would put these at the end of the post but unfortunately today i cannot post anything agter my table so here goes.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pj8dWXOCdQU

 

 

Two important irregular verbs

THE VERB – TO BE

SINGULAR PLURAL
I was We were
You were You were
He was They were
She was
It was

 

TO HAVE-POSITIVE

SINGULAR PLURAL
I had We had
You had You had
He had They had
She had
It had
Present Past
be was
begin began
bend bent
bite bit
blow blew
break broke
build built
buy bought
catch caught
dig dug
do did
draw drew
drink drank
drive drove
eat ate
fall fell
fight fought
give gave
go went
have had
run ran
see saw
sit sat
win won
write wrote
Leave a Reply

