SIMPLE PAST TENSE

25187648612_dd76f96f2c_o

Today I am going to do the simple past tense.

I am going to use my own book to write about this tense.

411JGwTG1LL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_

SIMPLE PAST TENSE

  • You will learn to form the simple past tense in the positive

To form the simple past tense with regular verbs, add –ed to the present.

You use this when the action is completed.

e.g. I danced last night.

The action took place last night and is completed.

POSITIVE

SIMPLE PAST
Finished action
Telling stories

 

Two important irregular verbs

THE VERB – TO BE

SINGULAR PLURAL
I was We were
You were You were
He was They were
She was  
It was  

 

TO HAVE-POSITIVE

SINGULAR PLURAL
I had We had
You had You had
He had They had
She had  
It had  

 

NEGATIVE

  • You will learn to form the simple past tense in the negative.

To form the negative in the simple past tense you put ‘did not’ or ‘didn’t’ before the Infinitive without ‘to’ 

did not                  + infinitive Contracted Version
I did not eat I didn’t eat
He/she/you/we/they did not drink He/she/you/we/they didn’t drink

‘I did not ate’ is wrong.

Exception : the verb ‘to be’

SINGULAR Contracted Form PLURAL Contracted Form
I was not I wasn’t We were not We weren’t
You were You weren’t You were not You weren’t
He was not He wasn’t They were not They weren’t
She was not She wasn’t    
It was not It wasn’t    

Here is a more detailed study from http://www.perfect english grammar.com

1 Finished events in the past with no connection to the present:

Leonardo painted the Mona Lisa.
The Vikings invaded Britain.

2 With a finished time word (yesterday, last week, at 2 o’clock, in 2003):

I went to the cinema yesterday.
We visited Japan in 2007.

3 For stories / lists of events:

He went to a café, sat down and lit a cigarette.
Yesterday I went to the library, met a friend for lunch, and played tennis.

4 Details of news:

I’ve hurt my leg. I fell off a ladder when I was painting my bedroom.
I’ve been on holiday. I went to Spain and Portugal.

5 As part of the second conditional:

If I won the lottery, I would buy a house in Chelsea.
If she knew his number, she would call him.

Here are some you tube simple past videos.

I hope that you enjoy this lesson and that everyone is aware of when and how to use the past tense.

Have a great day.  See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

