Hello.  Good morning.  How many of you did the exercise I asked you to do yesterday?

Do you remember the questions?  I will remind you of them in a minute.

8749026227_1dab3362b9_o15255906375_3e380eeb06_o1.Find as many adjectives describing the butterfly.

2.Find verbs describing the caterpillar and its transformation into a butterfly.

3.Find the nouns to describe the life cycle of the caterpillar.

Were you able to do these?

  1. The colours that come to my mind are : yellow. orange, white, blue, black, brown
  2. The most obvious verbs are: change, transform, wriggle, crawl, fly
  3. The nouns are: egg, larva, pupa, butterfly
Butterflies and moths undergo complete metamorphosis in which they go through four different life stages.

  • Egg – A butterfly starts its life as an egg.
  • Larva – The larva (caterpillar) hatches from an egg and eats leaves or flowers almost constantly. The caterpillar molts (loses its old skin) many times as it grows.
  • Pupa – It turns into a pupa (chrysalis); this is a resting stage.
  • Adult – A beautiful, flying adult emerges. There is no growth during this stage. This adult will continue the cycle and reproduce.
  • from Enchanted learning.com

I find this very interesting.  I hope you do too.  See you tomorow qith another exciting project.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s