HAPPY WEDNESDAY

water-lily-free-license-CC0

Wednesday’s child is full of woe.

What is the meaning of woe?

It means problems or trouble.

The line can mean that the child born on Wednesday will encounter a lot of problems in life.

Happy Wednesday.

I am going to post a quote by the famous Albert Einstein.

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
Albert Einstein

If you do not know who Albert Einstein I would suggest that you go to Wikipedia and find out about him.

As I promised I will start doing some grammar.

There are 8 parts of speech in English.  Can you believe it?  The thousands of words that we speak can be divided into 8 parts of speech.  Here they are:

  1. Nouns
  2. Verbs
  3. Adjectives
  4. Adverbs
  5. Pronouns
  6. Prepositions
  7. Conjunctions
  8. Interjections

Wow! Wouldn’t it be fun trying to work out which word is which part of speech.  But it would be too long to attempt this, especially when you are learning to speak.  Imagine trying to do this when you are speaking.

Here is a table from englishclub.com which will help you understand the different parts of speech.

part of speech function or “job” example words example sentences
Verb action or state (to) be, have, do, like, work, sing, can, must EnglishClub is a web site. I like EnglishClub.
Noun thing or person pen, dog, work, music, town, London, teacher, John This is my dog. He lives in my house. We live in London.
Adjective describes a noun good, big, red, well, interesting My dogs are big. I like big dogs.
Determiner limits or “determines” a noun a/an, the, 2, some, many I have two dogs and some rabbits.
Adverb describes a verb, adjective or adverb quickly, silently, well, badly, very, really My dog eats quickly. When he is very hungry, he eats really quickly.
Pronoun replaces a noun I, you, he, she, some Tara is Indian. She is beautiful.
Preposition links a noun to another word to, at, after, on, but We went to school on Monday.
Conjunction joins clauses or sentences or words and, but, when I like dogs and I like cats. I like cats and dogs. I like dogs but I don’t like cats.
Interjection short exclamation, sometimes inserted into a sentence oh!, ouch!, hi!, well Ouch! That hurts! Hi! How are you? Well, I don’t know

You will note that Englishclub.com states that there are 9 parts of speech.  It states that a determiner is “a/an” “the” “2” “some” “many”. However, these are also known as “articles” and they come before nouns.

Enough of grammar for today.  Try to remember what  nouns, verbs and adjectives are for now.

Leave a Reply

